Utah Social Workers CE Requirements, Accreditations & Approvals

Utah Social Workers

As a Jointly Accredited Organization, NetCE is approved to offer social work continuing education by the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) Approved Continuing Education (ACE) program. Organizations, not individual courses, are approved under this program. State and provincial regulatory boards have the final authority to determine whether an individual course may be accepted for continuing education credit. NetCE maintains responsibility for this course.

The Utah Social Work Licensing Board accepts courses from any provider who is ASWB approved.

Continuing Education Requirement

Attention Utah Social Workers: In order to support Utah's efforts to curb the spread of COVID-19 through social distancing, and effective June 18, 2020, a temporary waiver of "live" CE requirements has been approved for those with DOPL license expiration dates between now and the end of the COVID-19 Pandemic. In other words, online CE may be accrued instead of live CE for the duration of the Pandemic for purposes of license renewal consideration. For more information, please visit https://dopl.utah.gov/covid19.html.

The Utah Social Work Licensing Board accepts NetCE courses.

LCSWs and CSWs are required 40 hours every two years, 15 of which may be completed by distance learning.*

A minimum of 3 of the 40 hours must be in ethics and/or law, and 2 hours must be in suicide prevention every two year licensing period.

SSWs are required 20 hours every two years, 15 of which may completed by distance learning.*

A minimum of 3 of the 20 hours must be in ethics and/or law, and 2 hours must be in suicide prevention every two year licensing period.

*NetCE courses are considered distance learning.

View Special Offers
View Course List

All Accreditations and Approvals
License Renewal Instructions

For More Information

Please contact the Utah Social Work Licensing Board at (866) 275-3675 or http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title58/Chapter60/C58-60_1800010118000101.pdf- suicide prevention or https://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r156/r156-60a.htm#T11 for additional information regarding your continuing education.