Utah Counselors/Therapists CE Requirements, Accreditations & Approvals

Utah Counselors / Therapists

NetCE has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 6361. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. NetCE is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs.

Continuing Education (CE) credits for psychologists are provided through the co-sponsorship of the American Psychological Association (APA) Office of Continuing Education in Psychology (CEP). The APA CEP Office maintains responsibility for the content of the programs.

The Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing Professional Counseling and/or Marriage & Family Therapy accepts NetCE's courses as long as directly related to the licensee's professional practice.

Continuing Education Requirement

Attention Utah Counselors and Therapists: In order to support Utah's efforts to curb the spread of COVID-19 through social distancing, and effective June 18, 2020, a temporary waiver of "live" CE requirements has been approved for those with DOPL license expiration dates between now and the end of the COVID-19 Pandemic. In other words, online CE may be accrued instead of live CE for the duration of the Pandemic for purposes of license renewal consideration. For more information, please visit https://dopl.utah.gov/covid19.html.

The Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing Professional Counseling and/or Marriage & Family Therapy accepts NetCE's courses as long as directly related to the licensee's professional practice.

CMHCs are required 40 hours every two years, 10 of which may be completed by distance learning.*

A minimum of 6 of the 40 hours must be in ethics and 2 hours must be in suicide prevention every two years.

MFTs are required 40 hours every two years, 15 of which must be directly related to marriage and family therapy, and 15 of which may be completed by distance learning.*

A minimum of 6 of the 40 hours must be in ethics (3 of which must be directly related to marriage and family therapy), and 2 hours must be in suicide prevention every two years.

*NetCE courses are considered distance learning.

View Special Offers
View Course List

All Accreditations and Approvals
License Renewal Instructions

For More Information

CMHCs:
Please contact the Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing, Clinical Mental Health Counseling and/or Marriage & Family Therapy at (866) 275-3675 or http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/R156-60c.pdf for additional information regarding your continuing education.

MFTs:
Please contact the Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing, Clinical Mental Health Counseling and/or Marriage & Family Therapy at (866) 275-3675 or http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/R156-60b.pdf for additional information regarding your continuing education.