Arkansas Nurses CE Requirements, Accreditations & Approvals

Arkansas Nurses

In support of improving patient care, NetCE is jointly accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME), the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), and the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), to provide continuing education for the healthcare team.

The Arkansas State Board of Nursing accepts courses from any provider who is ANCC accredited.

Continuing Education Requirement

NetCE is an approved provider through CE Broker, Provider #50-2405.
NetCE will electronically report successful course completions to CE Broker.

RNs and LPNs are required 15 contact hours in area of practice every two years.

APRNs are required to submit documentation of current national certification in appropriate APRN specialty, as well as RN licensure.

APRNs with prescriptive authority are required an additional 5 contact hours biennially in pharmacotherapeutics related to specialty. Effective January 1, 2017, two (2) of the 5 hours must contain information related to maintaining professional boundaries and the prescribing rules and laws that apply to APRNs in the State of Arkansas (ASBN Rules, Chapter 4, Section III Licensure, rule F.8). APRNs issued a certificate of prescriptive authority after December 31, 2015, are required a minimum of 3 hours of prescribing education which includes information on maintaining professional boundaries and the prescribing rules, regulations, and laws that apply to APRNs in the state, within two years of issuance of the prescriptive authority certificate (ASBN Rules, Chapter 4, Section VIII Initial Applicant, rule A.7).

Beginning with DEA initial registrations or renewals starting June 27, 2023, all DEA-registered practitioners (with the exception of DVM-only license holders) are required 8 hours on treating and managing patients with opioid or other substance use disorders, including the appropriate clinical use of all FDA-approved drugs for the treatment of a substance use disorder, one-time only.

View RN and LPN Special Offers
View APRN Special Offers
View Course List

All Accreditations and Approvals
License Renewal Instructions

For More Information

Please contact the Arkansas State Board of Nursing at (501) 686-2700, or visit their website at https://www.healthy.arkansas.gov/programs-services/topics/arkansas-board-of-nursing.

Additional information regarding your continuing education requirements may be found at:
https://www.healthy.arkansas.gov/programs-services/topics/arsbn-continuing-education - All Licensees.
https://www.healthy.arkansas.gov/images/uploads/pdf/Rules.Chapter04-_Effective_05-15-2022.pdf - APRN Prescriptive Authority (ASBN Rules Ch 4, Sect III Licensure, F.8; Sect VIII Initial Applicant, A.7).