Utah Nurses CE Requirements, Accreditations & Approvals

Utah Nurses

In support of improving patient care, NetCE is jointly accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME), the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), and the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), to provide continuing education for the healthcare team.

The Utah State Board of Nursing accepts courses from any provider who is ANCC accredited.

Continuing Education Requirement

The Utah State Board of Nursing accepts NetCE courses.

RNs and LPNs are required one of the following every two years:

  • 400 hours of licensed practice, or
  • 200 hours of licensed practice plus 15 contact hours, or
  • 30 contact hours.

APRNs are required the following every two years:

  • Must maintain national certification, and
  • Must be currently certified in specialty area, or
  • Must complete 30 hours of CE (if licensed prior to 7/1/92) and 400 hours of practice each year.

APRNs with prescriptive authority are required an additional 3.5 hours in controlled substances prescribing, plus .5 hours from the Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing online tutorial.*

*NetCE currently does not offer the .5- hour online tutorial

View Special Offers
View Course List

All Accreditations and Approvals
License Renewal Instructions

For More Information

Please contact the Utah State Board of Nursing at (801) 530-6628 or (866) 275-3675, or visit their website at https://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/nursing.html.

Additional information regarding your continuing education requirements may be found at:
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/R156-31b.pdf - All Licensees.
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/R156-37.pdf - Utah Controlled Substances Act Rule R156-37-402 for APRNs with prescriptive authority.