Maryland Social Workers CE Requirements, Accreditations & Approvals

Maryland Social Workers

As a Jointly Accredited Organization, NetCE is approved to offer social work continuing education by the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) Approved Continuing Education (ACE) program. Organizations, not individual courses, are approved under this program. State and provincial regulatory boards have the final authority to determine whether an individual course may be accepted for continuing education credit. NetCE maintains responsibility for this course.

The Maryland State Board of Social Work Examiners accepts courses from any provider who is ASWB approved.

Continuing Education Requirement

Attention Maryland Social Workers: On March 5, 2020, Governor Lawrence J. Hogan, Jr., declared a state of emergency and catastrophic health emergency in response to the spread of the novel coronavirus known as COVID-19. Pursuant to the Governor’s authority under the Constitution and Laws of Maryland, on March 12, 2020, the Governor issued an Executive Order extending the expiration date of all licenses, permits, registrations, and other authorizations issued by any agency of the State of Maryland until the 30th day after the date by which the state of emergency is terminated and the catastrophic health emergency is rescinded. Effective immediately, all licenses and certificates that are scheduled to expire during the state of emergency and catastrophic health emergency are hereby extended until the 30th day after the date by which the state of emergency is terminated and the catastrophic health emergency is rescinded. For more information, please visit https://mbon.maryland.gov/Documents/executive-order-extending-expiration-dates.pdf.

The Maryland State Board of Social Work accepts NetCE courses.

LCSWs, LGSWs, LSWs, and LCSWs-C are required 40 hours every two years, 20 of which may be taken in Category II.*

A minimum of 3 of the 40 hours must be in ethics every two years.

LBSW: Required 30 hours every two year licensing period, 15 of which may be taken in Category II.*

A minimum of 3 of the 30 hours must be in ethics every two years.

*NetCE courses are considered Category II.

View Special Offers
View Course List

All Accreditations and Approvals
License Renewal Instructions

For More Information

Please contact the Maryland State Board of Social Work Examiners at (877) 526-2541 or (410) 764-4788 or http://dhmh.maryland.gov/bswe/Pages/Continuing_ed.aspx for additional information regarding your continuing education.