Pennsylvania Dentists CE Requirements, Accreditations & Approvals

Pennsylvania Dental Professionals

NetCE is an ADA CERP Recognized Provider. ADA CERP is a service of the American Dental Association to assist dental professionals in identifying quality providers of continuing dental education. ADA CERP does not approve or endorse individual courses or instructors, nor does it imply acceptance of credit hours by boards of dentistry. Concerns or complaints about a CE provider may be directed to the provider or to ADA CERP at www.ada.org/cerp.

NetCE
Nationally Approved PACE Program
Provider for FAGD/MAGD credit.
Approval does not imply acceptance by
any regulatory authority or AGD endorsement.
10/1/2015 to 9/30/2021
Provider ID #217994.

The Pennsylvania State Board of Dentistry accepts courses from any provider who is ADA or AGD approved.

Continuing Education

Attention Pennsylvania Dentists and Dental Hygienists: Governor Wolf has granted the Department of State’s request to suspend restrictions on distance-learning for continuing education requirements for certain licensed professionals, including dentists. The governor granted a suspension of restrictions that limited the ability of licensees to take classes online or participate in distance-learning opportunities for the current biennial renewal period to permit all licensees to complete their continuing education online during the COVID-19 pandemic. For more information, please visit https://www.dos.pa.gov/Documents/2020-03-22-Continuing-Education-Suspensions.pdf.

The Pennsylvania State Board of Dentistry accepts NetCE courses.

Dentists are required 30 hours every two years, 15 of which may be completed by individual study.* Licensees authorized to prescribe or dispense opioids are required to complete at least 2 hours in pain management, the identification of addiction, or the practices of prescribing or dispensing of opioids every renewal.

Dental Hygienists are required 20 hours every two years, 10 of which may be completed by individual study.*

Dental Assistants are required 10 hours every two years, 5 of which may be completed by individual study.*

*NetCE courses are considered individual study.

Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting Training

In accordance with Act 31 of 2014 certain mandated reporters are required to obtain training in child abuse recognition and reporting training.  This includes:

  • Certain individuals applying or holding a license or certification through the Department of State;
  • Current operators;
  • Current employees having direct contact with children;
  • Current caregivers and employees in family day care homes; and
  • Current foster parents.

View Course List

All Accreditations and Approvals
License Renewal Instructions

For More Information

Please contact the Pennsylvania State Board of Dentistry at (717) 783-7162 or http://www.pacode.com/secure/data/049/chapter33/subchapFtoc.html for additional information regarding your continuing education.