Pennsylvania Physician Assistants CE Requirements, Accreditations & Approvals

Pennsylvania Physician Assistants

In support of improving patient care, NetCE is jointly accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME), the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), and the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), to provide continuing education for the healthcare team.

As a jointly accredited provider, NetCE is authorized to award Category 1 CME Credit to physician assistants certified through the National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA).

The Pennsylvania State Board of Medicine accepts courses from any provider who is ACCME-accredited and awards AMA PRA Category 1 Credit ™.

Continuing Education Requirement

Attention Pennsylvania Physician Assistants: The BPOA has received many questions from licensed professionals about what happens to licensing waivers if the COVID-19 emergency disaster declaration is ended. With the governor's signing of HB 854 (now Act 21 of 2021), licensing waivers will remain active until September 30, 2021, unless ended sooner. Additional updates will be provided as more information becomes available. For more information, please visit https://www.dos.pa.gov/Professional-Licensing/Boards-Commissions/Medicine/Pages/default.aspx.

Additionally, emergency temporary licenses and reactivated Board of Medicine licenses have also been granted an extension. For these deadlines and more information, please visit https://www.dos.pa.gov/Pages/2020-12-21-waiver-medicine-board-deadline-retired-out-of-state.aspx.

PAs and OPAs must maintain certification through the National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA) every two years. In accordance with Act 31 of 2014, PAs must complete 2 hours of approved child abuse recognition and reporting training every renewal.* Licensees with prescriptive authority, as a condition of license renewal, are required 2 hours in pain management, the identification of addiction or the practices of prescribing or dispensing of opioids.

As a one-time requirement for initial licensure, and in accordance with Act 31 of 2014, all PAs and OPAs must complete 3 hours of approved child abuse recognition and reporting training.*

Within one year of issuance of prescriptive authority all PAs and OPAs have a one-time requirement of 4 hours: 2 of which must be in pain management or addiction, and 2 in the practices of prescribing or dispensing opioids.

*NetCE's course on child abuse recognition and reporting training is approved for both initial licensure and renewal of license.

View Special Offers
View Course List

All Accreditations and Approvals
PA License Renewal Instructions
OPA License Renewal Instructions

For More Information

Please contact the Pennsylvania State Board of Medicine at (717) 783-1400 or the Pennsylvania State Board of Osteopathic Medicine at (717) 783-4858 or https://www.dos.pa.gov/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardsCommissions/Medicine/Pages/CME-Requirements.aspx - PAs or https://www.dos.pa.gov/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardsCommissions/OsteopathicMedicine/Pages/Continuing-Education-Information.aspx - OPAs for additional information regarding your continuing education.

For additional information regarding NCCPA's continuing education requirement please access their website at http://www.nccpa.net/continuingmedicaleducation.

For additional information regarding child abuse recognition and reporting training please visit https://www.dos.pa.gov/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardsCommissions/Pages/Act-31.aspx.