Arkansas Physician Assistants CE Requirements, Accreditations & Approvals

Arkansas Physician Assistants

In support of improving patient care, NetCE is jointly accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME), the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), and the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), to provide continuing education for the healthcare team.

As a jointly accredited provider, NetCE is authorized to award Category 1 CME Credit to physician assistants certified through the National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA).

The Arkansas State Medical Board accepts courses from any provider who is ACCME-accredited and awards AMA PRA Category 1 Credit ™.

Continuing Education Requirement

PAs are required 20 hours each year. Beginning with 2019 renewals, all licensees are required to complete 1 hour on the prescribing of opioids and benzodiazepines.

PAs authorized to prescribe Schedule II medications must complete a one-time requirement of 5 hours in the area of pain management.

All licensed prescribers must complete a one-time requirement of 3 hours in prescribing education, including Board Regulations and Laws, record keeping, and maintaining safe, professional boundaries within the first 2 years of licensure.

Beginning with DEA initial registrations or renewals starting June 27, 2023, all DEA-registered practitioners (with the exception of DVM-only license holders) are required 8 hours on treating and managing patients with opioid or other substance use disorders, including the appropriate clinical use of all FDA-approved drugs for the treatment of a substance use disorder, one-time only.

View Special Offers
View Course List

All Accreditations and Approvals
License Renewal Instructions

For More Information

Please contact the Arkansas State Medical Board at (501) 296-1802, or refer to for additional information regarding your continuing education.