Delaware Physician Assistants CE Requirements, Accreditations & Approvals

Delaware Physician Assistants

In support of improving patient care, NetCE is jointly accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME), the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), and the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), to provide continuing education for the healthcare team.

As a jointly accredited provider, NetCE is authorized to award Category 1 CME Credit to physician assistants certified through the National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA).

The Delaware Board of Medical Practice Division of Professional Regulation accepts courses from any provider who is ACCME-accredited and awards AMA PRA Category 1 Credit ™.

Continuing Education Requirement

PAs are required 100 hours every two years, 50 of which must be AMA PRA Category 1 Credit ™, or show evidence of certification through the National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA). PAs with prescriptive authority are required 2 hours in the area of controlled substance prescribing practices, treatment of chronic pain, or other topics relating to controlled substances, and 1 hour on Delaware Law pertaining to the prescribing and distribution of controlled substances within the first year of registration.*

Beginning with DEA initial registrations or renewals starting June 27, 2023, all DEA-registered practitioners (with the exception of DVM-only license holders) are required 8 hours on treating and managing patients with opioid or other substance use disorders, including the appropriate clinical use of all FDA-approved drugs for the treatment of a substance use disorder, one-time only.

All licensees are required to complete a 1-hour training on how to recognize child sexual and physical abuse, exploitation and domestic violence, and reporting obligations specific to Delaware Law under the Medical Practice Act every renewal.

Per Delaware Senate Bill 283 enacted 9/8/2022, professionals who work in Adult or Gerontology in a healthcare setting must complete at least one (1) hour in each reporting period on the topic of diagnosis, treatment, and care of patients with Alzheimer's disease or other dementias.

*NetCE does not offer a course to meet the 1 hour Delaware Law requirement.

View Special Offers
View Course List

All Accreditations and Approvals
License Renewal Instructions

For More Information

Please contact the Delaware Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline, Division of Professional Regulation at (302) 744-4500 or refer to for additional information regarding your continuing education.

For additional information regarding NCCPA's continuing education requirement please access their website at