New Jersey Physician Assistants CE Requirements, Accreditations & Approvals

New Jersey Physician Assistants

In support of improving patient care, NetCE is jointly accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME), the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), and the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), to provide continuing education for the healthcare team.

As a jointly accredited provider, NetCE is authorized to award Category 1 CME Credit to physician assistants certified through the National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA).

The New Jersey State Board of Medical Examiners accepts courses from any provider who is ACCME-accredited and awards AMA PRA Category 1 Credit ™.

Continuing Education Requirement

PAs are required 50 hours of AMA PRA Category 1 Credit ™ every two years. Licensees authorized to prescribe controlled substances are required 1 hour in topics related to responsible opioid prescribing, alternatives to opioids for managing and treating pain, and the risks and signs of opioid abuse, addiction, and diversion. (Pursuant to P.L. 2017, Chapter 28, the Opioid Law, approved 2/15/2017)

Beginning with DEA initial registrations or renewals starting June 27, 2023, all DEA-registered practitioners (with the exception of DVM-only license holders) are required 8 hours on treating and managing patients with opioid or other substance use disorders, including the appropriate clinical use of all FDA-approved drugs for the treatment of a substance use disorder, one-time only.

All health care professionals who provide perinatal treatment and care to pregnant persons (certified nurse midwives, certified professional midwives, certified midwives licensed prior to effective date of this act; licensed professional nurses and practical nurses; physicians and physician assistants) are required one credit on implicit and explicit bias, every renewal period. Completion of a continuing educaton course pursuant to section 2, 3, 4, 5, or 7 of P.L. 2021/Ch 79 shall be deemed to have satisfied the requirement for the licensure or certification period in which the course was completed. (Pursuant to P.L. 2021, Chapter 79, C.26:2H-12.108, enacted 5/11/2021)

View Special Offers
View Course List

All Accreditations and Approvals
License Renewal Instructions

For More Information

Please contact the New Jersey State Board of Medical Examiners at (609) 826-7100, or refer to (Subchapter 2B), for additional information regarding your continuing education.