California Social Workers CE Requirements, Accreditations & Approvals

California Social Workers

As a Jointly Accredited Organization, NetCE is approved to offer social work continuing education by the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) Approved Continuing Education (ACE) program. Organizations, not individual courses, are approved under this program. State and provincial regulatory boards have the final authority to determine whether an individual course may be accepted for continuing education credit. NetCE maintains responsibility for this course.

The California Board of Behavioral Sciences accepts courses from any provider who is APA, NBCC and/or ASWB approved.

Continuing Education Requirement

Attention California Health and Mental Health Professionals:
Per Executive Order N-39-20, there have been changes to licensing requirements. For healing arts boards licensees under the California Department of Consumer Affairs, the Director temporarily waives continuing education requirements or passage of an examination for renewal of licenses expiring between March 31, 2020 and October 31, 2021. These specific requirements are deferred for a six-month period unless the order is further extended. Deferred continuing education must be completed no later than March 28, 2022. (Does not apply to any continuing education, training, or examination required pursuant to a disciplinary order against a license.) Licensees should consult their respective licensing boards prior to license expiration date to confirm waiver eligibility and compliance requirements; completed applications and renewal fees may still be required prior to license expiration date. For more information, please visit https://www.dca.ca.gov/licensees/waiver_request_info,shtml and https://www.dca.ca.gov/licensees/dca_waivers.shtml.

The California Board of Behavioral Sciences accepts NetCE courses.

LCSWs are required 36 hours every two years, all of which may be completed through self-study (print) or online. A minimum of 6 of the 36 hours must be in law and ethics every two years. There is a one-time requirement of 7 hours in HIV/AIDS during the first renewal.

Licensees who supervise Marriage and Family Therapist Trainees or Associates are required 6 hours in supervision training every renewal.

Licensees who supervise Associate Social Workers must complete a one-time requirement of 15 hours in supervision.

Effective January 1, 2021 all applicants and current licensees must complete a one-time requirement of 6 hours in suicide prevention and intervention.

*NetCE courses are considered self-study and online.

View Special Offers
View Course List

All Accreditations and Approvals
License Renewal Instructions

For More Information

Please contact the California Board of Behavioral Sciences at (916) 574-7830 or http://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf for additional information regarding your continuing education.